October 18th, 2015: Mosa Concert Series. Church of  Our Saviour of Atonement, 189 Bennet Avenue, New York, NY 10033

Featured US Premiere
"The Eagles at Inwood Hill Park" by Frank Foerster

Featured Soloists
Lisa Hansen in the Flute Concerto by Johan Helmich Roman; Frank Foerster  in his own composition "Suite of Scandinavian Folk Melodies"

Other Featured Works
Carl Nielsen, "Little Suite", Opus 1; Niels V. Gade, "Novelettes", Opus 58

Scandia Symphony features its string orchestra and signature Scandinavian repertoire indoors for the opening of the 2015-16 Concert Season at The Church of Our Saviour of the Atonement MOSA Series on October 18 at 5 pm. 

The free concert, conducted by Scandia Symphony music director Dorrit Matson, will feature the New York Premiere of The Eagles of Inwood Hill by Frank Foerster, Composer and Principal Violist of the Scandia Symphony. Foerster will also be the soloist in his own composition, Suite of Scandinavian Folk Melodies.  Principal flutist Lisa Hansen will be featured as soloist in the Flute Concerto by Swedish Baroque composer Johan Helmich Roman.  The concert will also present Carl Nielsen’s Little Suite, Opus 1 and Niels W. Gade’s Novellettes.
HomeAbout the ConductorContact UsConcert SeasonsSummer ConcertsChildrens Concerts
News and FeaturesInterview with Stephanie ChaseReviewsContributorsDonate

 Symphony Space
Peter Jay Sharp Theatre
April 9, 2015
2017 Concert Season

May 4th, 2017
The Danish Golden Age 
200th Anniversary Concert

2015 / 2016 Concert Season

.                 Symphony Space
   Leonard Nimoy Thalia Theatre
June 5, 2014
Read Scandia Symphony Reviews:

New York Scandia Symphony has served the communities of New York City with innovative and creative programs of Scandinavian music for the past 28 years, sharing the musical treasures and cultural heritage of Scandinavia with American audiences. Music Director and Conductor Dorrit Matson will lead the orchestra in a program titled "The Danish Golden Age" and celebrating Danish composer Niels W. Gade in this 200th Anniversary year of his birth in 1817

The concert will feature 50 of New York City’s finest musicians and Violinist Stephanie Chase in a performance of some of the most extraordinary music created during this very unique chapter in Danish cultural history: The "Echoes of Ossian" Overture, "Symphony No. 2" and the "Violin Concerto" Opus 56 by Niels W. Gade.

Niels W. Gade (1817–1890) participated in the development of Musikforeningen (the Music Society) which had been founded in 1836 with the purpose of extending and improving the understanding of classical music. He became its conductor in 1850, and under his management a number of masterpieces of choral music were given their first performance in Denmark, among them Bach's St. Matthew Passion in 1875.[21] At the conservatory in Copenhagen, Gade helped teach future generations, including Edvard Grieg and Carl Nielsen. In the spirit of Romantic nationalism, he composed eight symphonies, a violin concerto, chamber music, organ and piano pieces and a number of large-scale cantatas, among them Elverskud, the most famous Danish work of its time.

Purchase Tickets