Nielsen & Sibelius 150th Anniversary Concert
Peter Jay Sharp Theatre
Symphony Space - 2537 Broadway at 95th St., NY, NY
April 9, 2015
2017 Concert Season

The Danish Golden Age
200th Anniversary Concert for Niels W. Gade
Symphony Space - 2537 Broadway at 95th St., NY, NY
May 4, 2017
2015 / 2016 Concert Season

Sounds of Scandinavia
Leonard Nimoy Thalia Theatre
Symphony Space - 2537 Broadway at 95th St., NY, NY
June 5, 2014

New York Scandia Symphony has served the communities of New York City with innovative and creative programs of Scandinavian music for the past 28 years, sharing the musical treasures and cultural heritage of Scandinavia with American audiences. Music Director and Conductor Dorrit Matson will lead the orchestra in a program titled "The Danish Golden Age" and celebrating Danish composer Niels W. Gade in this 200th Anniversary year of his birth in 1817

The concert will feature 50 of New York City’s finest musicians and Violinist Stephanie Chase in a performance of some of the most extraordinary music created during this very unique chapter in Danish cultural history: The "Echoes of Ossian" Overture, "Symphony No. 2" and the "Violin Concerto" Opus 56 by Niels W. Gade.

Click Here to read Interview with Soloist Stephanie Chase

Niels W. Gade (1817–1890) participated in the development of Musikforeningen (the Music Society) which had been founded in 1836 with the purpose of extending and improving the understanding of classical music. He became its conductor in 1850, and under his management a number of masterpieces of choral music were given their first performance in Denmark, among them Bach's St. Matthew Passion in 1875.[21] At the conservatory in Copenhagen, Gade helped teach future generations, including Edvard Grieg and Carl Nielsen. In the spirit of Romantic nationalism, he composed eight symphonies, a violin concerto, chamber music, organ and piano pieces and a number of large-scale cantatas, among them Elverskud, the most famous Danish work of its time.

Click Here to read interview with Conductor Dorrit Matson
Mosa Concert Series
Church of  Our Saviour of Atonement
178 Bennett Avenue, New York, NY
October 15th, 2015

Click Here to read review In Danish Pioneer

Featured US Premiere
"The Eagles at Inwood Hill Park" by Frank Foerster

Featured Soloists
Lisa Hansen in the Flute Concerto by Johan Helmich Roman; Frank Foerster  in his own composition "Suite of Scandinavian Folk Melodies"

Other Featured Works
Carl Nielsen, "Little Suite", Opus 1; Niels V. Gade, "Novelettes", Opus 58

Scandia Symphony features its string orchestra and signature Scandinavian repertoire indoors for the opening of the 2015-16 Concert Season at The Church of Our Saviour of the Atonement MOSA Series on October 18 at 5 pm.

The free concert, conducted by Scandia Symphony music director Dorrit Matson, will feature the New York Premiere of The Eagles of Inwood Hill by Frank Foerster, Composer and Principal Violist of the Scandia Symphony. Foerster will also be the soloist in his own composition, Suite of Scandinavian Folk Melodies.  Principal flutist Lisa Hansen will be featured as soloist in the Flute Concerto by Swedish Baroque composer Johan Helmich Roman.  The concert will also present Carl Nielsen’s Little Suite, Opus 1 and Niels W. Gade’s Novellettes.
2014 Season
Click Here to watch excerpts from 150th Nielsen/Sibelius
Click here to read review in SoundWordSight
Click Here to read Lucid Culture Review
Click Here to watch excerpts from The Danish Golden Age
Click here to watch Gade Violin Concerto with Soloist Stephanie Chase